Today marks 10 days since I decided to change my way of eating for the better!

The rationale was simple, I was putting too much crap into my body, expecting my body to train, and my body was having none of it! I spent my 35th birthday running between my bedroom and bathroom with an upset stomach and I knew I had to do something. I was quite literally sick and tired of being sick and tired. Action was needed and I made the decision to go vegan, reduce my gluten intake and quit alcohol. Nothing major then!

I have been flirting with the idea of going vegan for a while and have decided to finally take the plunge. Ten days later I am still going strong although I would not say I have managed to be 100% vegan all of the time. To kick off this blog, I thought I would start with 10 things I have found by being vegan for 10 days:

  1. You easily consumer 10 pieces of fruit and veg each day – this may seem obvious but for the first time in my life I am actually eating more than the recommended daily amount and I feel great as a result
  2. You go to the bathroom more often – the more you put into a system, the more the system needs to get rid of! I am hoping that this is a short term reaction and over time everything will go back to normal
  3. You head clears – this has perhaps been the best thing for me as I usually have a foggy head in the morning and late afternoon. Not any more..
  4. You realise the impact of a good nights sleep – while this might partly be because of the lack of alcohol, I am now sleeping better than I have in years and don’t find waking up in the morning a challenge
  5. You shed a few pounds – while not the main reason for going vegan, it is a nice side effect, so far I am down a few pounds
  6. You don’t get bloated – I was worried that the bloating I normally get from sugar, alcohol and gluten would simply be replaced by bloating from the increased fibre intake but not the case. My stomach is flat!
  7. You get clearer skin – I have always hated my skin since I was a teenager but over the past ten days it has got clearer and looks fresher!
  8. You can still exercise – on average I run three times a week and hit the gym and the pool once a week, I was worried how this would be impacted by going vegan and the only real issue has been the long run on the weekend where I just don’t seem to have enough energy. Shorter runs and sessions are fine though…
  9. You can eat out (but it can be a struggle) – at the start of this post I mentioned that I had not been 100% vegan and that is because a couple of times it has not been possible to be vegan when I have eaten out
  10. You get weird looks from people when you say you have gone vegan – the number of people who have rolled their eyes or tutted when I mentioned I had gone vegan is more than I expected but hopefully when they see the difference they will change their minds and see the error of their ways…

Ultimately my goal is to try this for 30 days and then make a decision about what to do in the long term.

Leave a Reply

